When a person has sexual contact with a child under 15, it is charged as Sexual Assault on a Child in Denver and Douglas County. A 27-year-old man was recently convicted and sentenced to prison for sexually assaulting two 14-year-old twins and their 12-year-old sister while he lived with the family. According to the report, the mother of the girls allowed the man to live with them when he had nowhere to live. He sexually assaulted the girls, getting all three of them pregnant. One of the 14-year-old twins terminated the pregnancy, but the other 14-year-old and 12-year-old ended up having the man’s babies. Pregnancies resulting from sexual assault are specifically addressed by the Colorado laws. Let’s look at what it says regarding Sexual Assault on a Child convictions and parental rights regarding a child conceived from the assault.
Adams County Sexual Assault on a Child Lawyer: Definition of Sexual Assault on a Child in Jefferson County
The Jefferson and Adams County, Colorado law definition of Sexual Assault on a Child – C.R.S. 18-4-405 – is:
Sexual Assault on a Child is a class 4 felony in Golden and Brighton, but can be aggravated to a class 3 felony if force or threats are used, or if it is a pattern of abuse- meaning it occurred on more than one occasion. For the man above, he would be looking at the class 3 felony because there were allegations of multiple sexual contacts with each girl.
Parental Rights Stemming From Sexual Assault on a Child Convictions in Denver
Under the Sexual Assault on a Child statute, if a person is convicted of Sexual Assault on a Child on or after July 1, 2013, and a child is conceived as a result of the offense, then that person legally has no right:
- To be notified that their parental rights have been terminated;
- To object to their parental rights being terminated;
- To any parental responsibilities or consideration for a parenting plan;
- To be notified that the child is being adopted.