Colorado Sex Crime Attorney Blog

Sexual Assault on a Child Charges in Douglas County

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Oct 24, 2023 | 0 Comments

Sexual assault on a child charges in Douglas County, Colorado can stem from several interactions between adults and teenagers. This law makes sexual contact between a young person under the age of 15 and anyone 4 or more years older unlawful. Accusations of sexual contact with a child are particularly serious and require immediate representation from a skilled sexual assault on a child attorney.

Child Sex Assault Charges in Highlands Ranch

Charges of sexually assaulting a child in Highlands Ranch, Lone Tree, and Parker aren't all that rare with electronic communication at an all time high. Young adults and young teens have more access to one another through messaging and social media on their many devices. These interactions can lead to meeting in person and inappropriate relationships form that are unlawful in Douglas County.

C.R.S. 18-3-405 defines the specific details of the sexual assault on a child law. Someone commits this sex offense if they:

  • have physical sexual contact,
  • with a child 14 or younger,
  • AND are 4 or more years older than the child

It is important to be aware that this applies to a person touching a child, as well as the child touching the older individual. Fondling or groping a young teenager's breasts, butt, or genital area for the purpose of sexual gratification can result in especially damaging charges. 

Sexual Assault on a Child Punishment in Colorado

Child sex assault is a class 4 felony throughout Colorado. Conviction can result in:

  • 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
  • fines of up to $500,000,
  • sex offender registration,
  • evaluations / treatment,
  • sex offender intensive supervised probation 

However, if the use of threats or force is present to achieve the sexual contact, a class 3 felony applies. Additionally, if the sexual contact is repeated a pattern of sexual abuse applies. These additional factors amplify penalties to 4 – 12 years in prison, as well as between $3,000 – $750,000 in fines.

Douglas County Sex Crimes Attorney

Sexual assault on a child charges should be handled with extreme caution in Douglas County. These cases often involve a child's word against the accused. Fortunately, the strategic criminal attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group have decades of experience representing clients facing sexual assault charges throughout Colorado. It's crucial that you take the following steps if facing any sexual assault accusation:

  1. exercise your right to remain silent,
  2. don't talk to police or investigators regarding your case,
  3. refrain from discussing the situation on social media or by text,
  4. contact our office for a free initial consultation

Don't talk to police about allegations of sexually assaulting a child - talk to us. 303-830-0880

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment