Sex Offender Registration

All states require sex offender registration of some kind. Individuals convicted as sex offenders must register their addresses with law enforcement. Sex offenders must also send updates whenever they change addresses and must keep their registration information current. Some states require sex offenders to verify information on a yearly basis via mail or more frequently if deemed violent predators.

States have different requirements regarding what offenses require registration and for what periods of time. Additionally, some offenses that are more serious may require registration for life. Serious crimes vary by state, but most commonly include repeat offenders, violent sexual offenders and those who commit sexual crimes against children. If you are concerned about your status under these rules, contact Sawyer Legal Group, LLC in Denver, CO for help and advice.

See our page of 

Frequently Asked Questions

about registering as a Sex Offender

Process of Registering as a Sex Offender in Arapahoe County

  After being released from jail, prison, or being notified that you must register as a sex offender, you have 5 business days to register at your local police station (or county sheriff's department if you live outside city/town limits). If you are unsupervised, you must register the very next business day.  Failure to register can result in serious consequences and additional charges.

When registering, you must bring a current photograph of yourself, as well as your fingerprint set, and payment for any required fees.  

You must continue to register, EVERY YEAR, within 5 business days (before or after) of your day of birth. 

If your crime falls under the following list, you are required to register quarterly (every 3 months):

  • Sexual assault, in violation of 18-3-402,
  • Sexual assault in the first degree, in violation of 18-3-402, as it existed prior to July 1, 2000,
  • Sexual assault in the second degree, in violation of 18-3-403, as it existed prior to July 1, 2000,
  • Sexual assault on a child, in violation of section 18-3-405, Sexual assault on a child by one in a position of trust, in violation of section 18-3-405.3,
  • Sexual assault on a client by a psychotherapist, in violation of 18-3-405.5,
  • Incest, in violation of 18-6-301,
  • Aggravated Incest, in violation of section 18-6-302,
  • Anyone found to be a Sexually Violent Predator.

Sex offenders must also re-register whenever they legally change their name.

As a registrant, you are required to always update law enforcement with your current address and place of employment.

It is VERY IMPORTANT to know that you can never simply just stop registering as a sex offender. You must file a petition to discontinue registration, even if you have completed the registration timeline requirements. Your petition must be granted by a judge, who can then end the mandatory registration, and only then can they stop registering.

For additional, detailed information on the Goals of the Sex Offender Registry, Who Has to Register, Public Access to Registry Information, Time Period That an Individual is Required to Register, Penalties for Failure to Register, and Requirements of Registrant, visit the Colorado Bureau of Investigation website.

If you would like help filing for discontinuing registration as a sex offender in Colorado, call Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.