Pimping Defense Attorney in Denver, Colorado | Pimping and Pandering Charges
You will need an experienced pandering and pimping defense attorney in Denver if you have been charged with either Pandering – CRS 18-7-203, or Pimping – CRS 18-7-206, in Jefferson, Douglas or Adams County.
What is Pandering?
Pandering (C.R.S. 18-7-203) ranges anywhere from a Class 3 Misdemeanor to a Class 5 Felony, and occurs when a person “induces a person by menacing or criminal intimidation to commit prostitution, or “knowingly” arranges or “offers to arrange a situation in which a person may practice prostitution.” Pandering is a broad term, and a person could commit this offence without knowing that they are doing so:
- Offering (or simply agreeing to) get a prostitute for another person.
- Giving directions to another person of a location that is known to be a place of prostitution.
- Getting a group of people together for the purpose of prostitution.
The sentence for a Class 5 Felony (which is charged when a person menaces or intimidates an individual into prostitution) is:
- 1 to 3 years imprisonment in the Colorado Department of Corrections.
- $1,000 to $100,000 fine.
The sentence for a Class 3 Misdemeanor (which is charge when a person offers to arrange a situation where an individual can practice prostitution) is:
- Up to 6 months in a County Jail.
- $50 to $750 fine.
What is Pimping?
Colorado defines Pimping as (C.R.S. 18-7-206) as “any person who knowingly lives on or is supported or maintained in whole or in part by money or other thing of value is earned, received, procured, or realized by any other person through prostitution…which is a Class 3 Felony.” This charge is serious – you will need an experienced pimping defense attorney in Denver. Pimping occurs when a person:
- Receives a form of payment (money or valuable items) from a prostitute who earned the money through prostitution.
- Runs a prostitution business, and receives a commission from the prostitutes' earnings.
The sentence for a Class 3 Felony Pimping charge is:
- 4 to 12 years imprisonment in the Colorado Department of Corrections.
- $3,000 to $750,000 fine.