Sexual Assault on a Child Charges Among Colorado Teenagers
Sexual Assault on a Child, a class 4 felony that can mean up to 6 years in prison. It's probably the last thing on the mind of teenagers involved in a sexual relationship with one another, but occasionally the criminal charges are made. For example, there was an eighteen year old girl charged with the Colorado equivalent of Sexual Assault on a Child (CRS 18-3-405), or Unlawful Sexual Contact (CRS 18-3-404, after supposedly having a sexual relationship with another female who is a sixteen year old, and therefore a minor. In Denver County and all of Colorado benefit from a clause known as the Romeo and Juliet exception, which stipulates that a minor may give consent to sex with an 18 year-old adult as long as they are no more than four years older than the teen. However, this exception doesn't apply if a position of trust exists.
Common Sexual Assault on a Child Charges in Arapahoe County
In most cases, it is the parent of the younger child involved who presses charges against the older teen involved. Many times, these parents wish to punish the teenagers engaging in sexual behavior. Bringing criminal charges against one or both of the parties is not unheard of, but is often more catastrophic to these young people's lives than it is helpful. The 18 year old girl I mentioned was treated like a criminal and tried as an adult for a felony sex crime. The affects of such a conviction on the life for people in her situation are long-lasting, and would include prison time. In Colorado, Sexual Assault on a Child charges have indeterminate sentencing. If convicted in Arapahoe County, the young woman could face a lifetime sentence to the Colorado Department of Corrections or lifetime probation.
Aurora Police Officers Make Arrests and Ask Questions Later in Sexual Assault Cases
Despite the law requiring a greater than four year age difference in Child Sexual Assault cases, we often see police and District Attorneys charging a young adult at the insistence of the younger teen's parent. Aurora Police and other government officials are wary of citizens who might complain against them. So, to avoid possible criticism, they file charges, make an arrest and ask questions later. The approach seems to be to take the safest route for an officer's career, rather than the right move under Colorado law. It is an approach that could ruin a young adult's life with a criminal record which might not be sealable.
Denver Defense Attorney for Sexual Assault on a Child Charges
If Denver Police approach your juvenile because of charges of Sexual Assault on a Child or Unlawful Sexual Conduct stemming from a sexual relationship, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your child's future.