Sexual Assault in Adams County, CO occurs when an individual has sex with someone against their will or when the other person is unable to give consent. These acts of sexual penetration or intrusion are most often a felony offense. However, sexual assault can be a misdemeanor in certain cases. If an alleged victim is a minor either 15 or 16 years of age, key details exist regarding the sexual contact that occurred and the age of the defendant. With severe consequences and rapid escalation from a misdemeanor to a felony, it is essential to hire a skilled Adams County sexual assault lawyer if facing charges.
What is Misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Adams County, CO?
C.R.S. 18-3-402 defines the behaviors associated with sexual assault in Colorado. Misdemeanor sexual assault is committed in Thornton, CO when an adult:
- participates in consensual sexual intrusion or penetration
- with a minor that is either 15 or 16 years of age
- and the adult is 10 or more years older than the minor and not their spouse
It is important to note that consent by a 15 or 16 year old minor is crucial in these specific cases. If it is not present, force is implied and felony sexual assault results. However, if a 15 or 16 year old minor has consensual sex with an adult who is less than 10 years older, no crime was committed. Furthermore, a 17 year old minor can consent in the state of Colorado to any older person, unless that individual is in a position of trust in relation to the minor (teacher, coach, pastor, etc). The nuances surrounding consenting age in Commerce City can be difficult to fully grasp. Contacting an Adams County sexual assault lawyer to help understand your specific situation can be invaluable.
Punishment for Misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Adams County, CO
In Commerce City, a misdemeanor sexual assault conviction is still treacherous. While not as severe as felony sexual assault, the consequences are still life-altering, restrictive, and embarrassing. Defendants face 6 – 24 months in county jail and a fine of $500 – $5,000. Additionally, misdemeanor sexual assault conviction requires sex offender registration. In the case of a misdemeanor, the information will not be made public if that is your sole conviction. Sex offender treatment overseen by the Sex Offender Management Board is also a potential consequence of a misdemeanor sex assault conviction. This treatment is lengthy and costly, further diminishing your overall quality of life and freedoms.
Experienced Sex Crimes Attorney in Adams County
Sex crime consequences in Colorado are severe, to say the least. Because age is such a large determining factor in all cases, expert council is essential. The experienced sex crime attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group are particularly well-versed in all Colorado sex offenses. We passionately defend our client's freedoms and always pursue the best possible outcome for each individual. Fighting a sexual assault charge alone can lead to even costlier consequences.
If you or someone you know is facing sexual assault charges, be smart. Contact the aggressive criminal defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – SplitShire
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment