Charges for Misdemeanor Sex Assault in Adams County, Colorado require the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney. The crime is commonly referred to as statutory rape and the Romeo and Juliet law in Colorado. This specific charge carries major punishments and can affect you for the rest of your life. For example, there are punishments that will never go away and can affect employment, housing, and your family. Below, I want to take some time to discuss what Misdemeanor Sex Assault is, what the potential punishments are, and how you can fight the charges.
What is Misdemeanor Sex Assault in Adams County, Colorado
Misdemeanor sexual assault is a charge where a person has a romantic relationship with another person. Unlike Misdemeanor Unlawful Sexual Contact, sex assault requires a consensual act. What makes the relationship a crime is the age difference between the two people. For instance, if Johnny is 28 and is dating Bethany who is 17, there could be a crime. The criminal aspect is the separation of their ages. The Colorado Sexual Assault law states that if a person is 15 to 17 years old, the person they have sex with has to be within 10 years of their age. Outside of ten years, you will need a criminal defense lawyer to help you with the charges you will be facing.
Punishments for Misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Arapahoe County, Colorado
Criminal lawyers who practice in Arapahoe County and handle sex crimes know that severe consequences await a person convicted of Misdemeanor Sex Assault. For example, a person charged will be facing up to 2 years in the Arapahoe County Detention Facility. In addition, the defendant would be facing up to $5,000 in fines, probation, sex offender treatment, and sex offender registration. The key component to this crime is the sex registration requirement. If convicted, the person would have to register as a sex offender in Arapahoe County, Colorado for the rest of their life. But, with the right private defense lawyer working for you, we can fight the District Attorney in Arapahoe County to keep that registration requirement from being a life-sentence.
Lawyer to Help Fight Charges of Misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Adams County, Colorado
Our sex crimes lawyers regularly practice in Adams County, Colorado and we know how to win our cases. Despite the devastating consequences of a conviction for Romeo and Juliet laws, we work a case for your benefit. Basically, we look at the charges and evaluate all of the facts. We check ages, consent from parents, and other facts. Our criminal defense lawyers use the best professionals for sex crime allegations. We won't stop until we get you the best possible outcome.
So, if you, or a loved one, have been charged with Sex Assault as a Misdemeanor in Adams County, Colorado, call O'Malley and Sawyer at 303-830-0880 to speak immediately with one of our attorneys. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pixabay-1475341