Sexual Harassment is not taken lightly anywhere in Colorado, especially when the victim is a child. Last month in Boulder County, and man was arrested after approaching 3 girls, all minors, at a park and making “inappropriate remarks about their bodies” (FOX31 Denver). After being confronted by one of the girls' parents, the man reportedly became “aggressive, threatening sexual violence and saying he would burn down the neighborhood.” Now the man faces two counts of harassment, which if found guilty would not be the first conviction on his record, as he already has a misdemeanor sex offense conviction.
Adams County Harassment Definition: C.R.S. 18-9-111
In Adams and Jefferson County, Colorado law definition of Harassment – C.R.S. 18-9-111 – is:
“(1) A person commits harassment if, with intent to harass, annoy, or alarm another person, he or she:
(a) Strikes, shoves, kicks, or otherwise touches a person or subjects him to physical contact; or
(b) In a public place directs obscene language or makes an obscene gesture to or at another person; or
(c) Follows a person in or about a public place; or
(e) Directly or indirectly initiates communication with a person or directs language toward another person, anonymously or otherwise, by telephone, telephone network, data network, text message, instant message, computer, computer network, computer system, or other interactive electronic medium in a manner intended to harass or threaten bodily injury or property damage, or makes any comment, request, suggestion, or proposal by telephone, computer, computer network, computer system, or other interactive electronic medium that is obscene; or
(f) Makes a telephone call or causes a telephone to ring repeatedly, whether or not a conversation ensues, with no purpose of legitimate conversation; or
(g) Makes repeated communications at inconvenient hours that invade the privacy of another and interfere in the use and enjoyment of another's home or private residence or other private property; or
(h) Repeatedly insults, taunts, challenges, or makes communications in offensively coarse language to, another in a manner likely to provoke a violent or disorderly response.
(1.5) As used in this section, unless the context otherwise requires, “obscene” means a patently offensive description of ultimate sexual acts or solicitation to commit ultimate sexual acts, whether or not said ultimate sexual acts are normal or perverted, actual or simulated, including masturbation, cunnilingus, fellatio, anilingus, or excretory functions.”
Sentence for Harassment in Douglas and Arapahoe County
In Douglas and Arapahoe County, Harassment is a class 3 misdemeanor, “except that harassment is a class 1 misdemeanor if the offender commits harassment pursuant to subsection (1) of this section with the intent to intimidate or harass another person because of that person's actual or perceived race; color; religion; ancestry; national origin; physical or mental disability,… or sexual orientation” (C.R.S. 18-9-111). A conviction of a class 3 misdemeanor will mean 6 months in jail and/or a fine between $50-$750. A class 1 misdemeanor sentence ranges from 6-18 months in jail and a fine between $500-$5,000.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment