Social media is a fun way to interact with both new and old friends as well as family in Denver and across Colorado. It's a great way to share information, receive updates and stay connected. However, it can also become a place where information gets shared that wasn't supposed to be shared. This can lead to criminal charges for posting an image or video, depending on the circumstances. One of those circumstances includes sharing inappropriate images or videos of someone online or through social media. Sometimes, this is done to receive monetary benefits. In Denver and across Colorado, these actions can lead to charges of Posting a Private Image for Pecuniary Gain.
Lawyer in Douglas County for Posting a Private Image for Pecuniary Gain
Posting a Private Image for Pecuniary Gain, C.R.S. 18-7-108, is charged in Castle Rock and Douglas County whenever someone eighteen years or older posts or distributes through social media or any web site any photograph, video, or other image displaying the private intimate parts of an identified or identifiable person eighteen years old or older. With these private images, the actor would have to intend to obtain a pecuniary benefit from any person as a result of posting, viewing or removal of the private image, under the circumstances that:
- The actor hasn't gotten the depicted person's consent;
- The actor knew or should have known the depicted person had a reasonable expectation the image would remain private.
Basically, if you post an inappropriate image or video online or through social media of someone else without their permission (in order to receive money), you could be charged with Posting a Private Image for Pecuniary Gain. A similar crime, Posting a Private Image for Harassment, C.R.S. 18-7-107, can also be charged for posting a private image or video over social media or on any website of someone, intending to harass that person. Both the person posting and the person being posted about would have to be 18 years old. Each of these offenses can come with serious consequences and should always be discussed with a knowledgeable attorney.
Arapahoe County Jail Sentence and Fines for Posting a Private Image for Pecuniary Gain
Our attorneys care for your circumstances and will sit down with you in a consultation to discuss your options.
In Arapahoe County and every other county, Posting a Private Image for Pecuniary Gain is a class 1 misdemeanor. That means you could risk spending up to 18 months in the Arapahoe County jail and pay a fine of up to $10,000. The outcomes of a criminal conviction of this criminal offense can be overwhelming. You should always consult an experienced sexual offense criminal lawyer if you've been charged or accused of Posting a Private Image for Pecuniary Gain anywhere in Colorado. Our attorneys care for your circumstances and will sit down with you during a free initial consultation to discuss your options.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment