What many people living in Denver, Arapahoe County and across Colorado often don't realize is that a person must deregister as a sex offender – they must first petition the court. They cannot just stop registering on their own – Failure to Register as a Sex Offender, C.R.S. 18-3-412.5, charges can be filed if someone hasn't gotten a petition granted by the court to deregister, and they stop registering. Let's continue reading about sex offender deregistration in Colorado.
When Can I Discontinue Sex Offender Registration in Douglas County?
The time frames for when a person can discontinue sex offender registration in Douglas and Pueblo County are as follows:
|Type of Offense||Time Until You Can Deregister|
|Class 1, 2 or 3 Felony||20 years|
|Class 4, 5 or 6 Felony||10 years|
|Class 1 misdemeanor||5 years|
|All other misdemeanor sex offenses||5 years|
|Deferred judgment and sentence to a sexual offense||After a successful completion of sentence and case dismissal|
|Under 18 years old when adjudicated a sex offender||After completing sentence successfully|
|Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Conviction||1 year|
You should be aware that these numbers are not absolute. In fact, there are some sexual offense convictions that never allow for sex offender deregistration. Always speak with an experienced criminal defense lawyer if you would like to deregister as a sex offender in Colorado or if you believe you qualify. Deregistration rules can be complicated.
Attorney in Adams County to Help with Your Sex Offender Deregistration Process
If you have more questions about discontinuing sex offender registration in Adams and Jefferson County, Colorado, consult a top criminal defense lawyer at the O'Malley Law Office immediately. Our lawyers know what judges look for when considering granting the petition to deregister in Colorado. Judges often look to people like the probation or parole officer, the victim, treatment professionals, and the DA for positive input about you (the defendant). Our lawyers can use witness testimonies at the deregistration hearing to help prove you have a low risk of reoffending and are not a threat to society. Call our criminal defense lawyers today to set up a free initial consultation with us if you have more questions about sex offender deregistration anywhere in Colorado.Request a Free Consultation
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment