A charge of failure to register as a sex offender in Adams County, Colorado has significant consequences. If you were convicted of a crime that requires sex offender registration in Thornton, Commerce City, or Westminster, failing or forgetting to register with local law enforcement is a serious crime. Whether requirements to register are annual or quarterly, there are restrictions in place that are unforgiving. Charges of failure to register as a sex offender require immediate action and contacting an especially skilled criminal defense lawyer.
What Leads to Failure to Register as a Sex Offender Charges?
There are many different mistakes and circumstances that can lead to a failing to register charge in Adams County. C.R.S. 18-3-412.5 defines the violations of sex offender registration requirements in the state of Colorado. Sex offenders commit this offense if they:
- fail to appear at a designated law enforcement agency within a specific time frame,
- provide false or incomplete information on their registration form,
- submit false information to a probation officer, judge, or law enforcement agency,
- fail to provide an accurate address as to where they reside,
- submit a form that lacks current name, previous names, or a correct date of birth,
- refuse to sit for a photograph and fingerprints during registration,
- fail to cancel registration with local law enforcement at their previous location upon moving,
- fail to provide email addresses and chat room identities prior to use
This is a lengthy list to say the least, heightening the margin for error. It is especially essential that sex offenders be aware of these requirements and follow them closely. If someone is nearing what they believe is the end of their registration requirements, they should contact a defense attorney to discuss deregistration or discontinuing sex offender registration.
Penalties for Failing to Register as a Sex Offender in Colorado
Failure to register as a sex offender can be a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the underlying conviction. In either scenario, this offense is an extraordinary risk crime, carrying harsher punishment. If the offense that requires sex offender registration was a misdemeanor, failing to register is an additional class 1 misdemeanor. Possible ramifications include:
- 6 – 18 months in county jail,
- and / or up to $5,000 in fines
However, failing to register as a sex offender is a class 6 felony if the prior conviction was a felony sex offense. Consequences in these scenarios may result in:
- up to 2 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- and / or fines of $1,000 – $100,000
Adams County Defense Attorney for Failing to Register
The need for a defense attorney can't be overstated when charges of failure to register as a sex offender exist. An already particularly difficult situation can become drastically worse if care is not taken. Perhaps you're trying to get things back on track after a sex crime conviction and made a mistake, or uncontrollable circumstances were present. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation with Colorado's top sex crimes attorneys. We will carefully analyze your unique situation, as well as suggest next steps.
If you or someone you know has been charged with failure to register as a sex offender in Colorado, be smart. Contact the skilled defense lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Unsplash – The Creative Exchange
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment