Image Source: Pixabay-suyizailushang
Unlawful Sexual Contact is usually a class 1 misdemeanor, and often charged for grabbing someone's butt or breasts without consent in Douglas, Arapahoe, and Denver County. However, if a victim alleges force, threats, or intimidation or if the Unlawful Sexual Contact is a medical professional acting outside normal medical practices, then it is a felony. A UC Denver nurse recently pled guilty to two counts of Attempted Sexual Assault in Weld County, where his plea deal will require a 12 year sentence to the Colorado Department of Corrections. According to the reports, he had been accused of inappropriately touching 10 patients – 5 of them in Greeley. This could have easily been charged as felony Unlawful Sexual Contact as he was accused of fondling breasts while dispersing medications. The nurse also has on-going cases in Larimer and Adams County.
Adams County Unlawful Sexual Contact Lawyer: Definition of Unlawful Sexual Contact
The Adams, Jefferson, and Weld County, Colorado law definition of Unlawful Sexual Contact as it relates to the nurse above – C.R.S. 18-3-404(1)(g) – is:
(1) Any actor who knowingly subjects a victim to any sexual contact commits unlawful sexual contact if:
(g) The actor engages in treatment or examination of a victim for other than bona fide medical purposes or in a manner substantially inconsistent with reasonable medical practices.
While visiting the doctor sometimes leaves you feeling violated, if the alleged violations do not have a true medical purpose, then it can be a criminal offense. In the case above, the nurse was administering pain killers to the patients when it was alleged he fondled them.
Sentence for Felony Unlawful Sexual Contact in Denver and Jefferson County
Felony Unlawful Sexual Contact is a class 4 felony and also considered a crime of violence, meaning it is punishable by an indeterminate sentence to the Colorado Department of Corrections. The minimum amount of time a judge could sentence for this crime is 5 years and the maximum is life. A person sentenced to DOC on an indeterminate sentence will have to serve the minimum set by the judge and will only be eligible for release at the discretion of the state parole board once the minimum amount of time has been served.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment