Last December, an undersheriff in Lake County, located between Aspen and Fairplay, was arrested on charges of sexually harassing multiple 911 dispatchers, attempted incest, attempted sexual exploitation of a child, contributing to the delinquency of a minor, embezzlement, and attempted invasion of privacy for sexual gratification. Many of the charges related to the man's interactions with his stepdaughter, trying to have her send him explicit images of herself, post explicit images of herself online, exposing himself to her, asking her to engage in sexual contact, and even using a camera from the sheriff's office and placing it in her bedroom and bathroom. Last week, after a lengthy court process, the man was found guilty by a jury of attempted aggravated invest and attempted invasion of privacy for sexual gratification, and acquitted (found not guilty) of many other charges.
Denver Defense Attorney – What is Aggravated Incest?
In Denver and throughout Colorado, Incest is charged when someone marries, inflicts sexual penetration/intrusion on, or subjects to sexual conflict, an ancestor or descendant. This includes natural children, a child by adoption, a stepchild, a sibling or half-sibling, or even an uncle, aunt, nephew, or niece. Incest, already a serious class 4 felony, becomes Aggravated Incest, a class 3 felony, when the child is under ten years of age. It is also considered Aggravated Incest when a person marries his or her natural child, or when they inflict sexual penetration or sexual intrusion or subjects to sexual contact his or her natural child, stepchild or child by adoption. For this to apply, the “child” need only be under 21-years-old.
Penalty for Incest and Aggravated Incest in Adams County
In Adams County, if you are convicted of Incest, you can be facing anywhere between 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines between $2,000 and $500,000. Aggravated Incest will mean a penalty of 4 – 12 years in prison and fines up to $750,000. A conviction will also mean registering as a sex offender in Colorado, as well as undergoing mandatory parole after release from prison and sex offender treatment.
Jefferson County Defense Lawyer for Incest Charges
Under Colorado law, we are all supposed to be considered innocent until proven guilty. This would mean that those making accusations would be considered to be lying until proven truthful. But this is sadly not often the case. Police officers like those in Jefferson County are quick to believe the ‘victim' and will use anything that you say to incriminate you for an addition to their arrest record. That is why it is imperative to your defense that your exercise your right to remain silent when contacted by law enforcement regarding Incest charges. As soon as possible, contact an experienced defense lawyer at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment