The indecent exposure law in Jefferson County, Colorado makes it unlawful to show genitals in public. Suggestively rubbing yourself or masturbating in view of another is also an act of indecent exposure in Colorado. A key element of this offense lies in whether the intent to publicly display or touch genitals was meant to satisfy sexual desire in some way. While this can be difficult for prosecutors to prove, it's best to consult a strategic sex crimes attorney early on due to the possible ramifications of conviction.
Jefferson County Indecent Exposure Law
Jefferson County's indecent exposure law prohibits public displays of certain intimate body parts. C.R.S. 18-7-302 defines these specific violations in Lakewood, Golden, and Arvada:
“a person commits indecent exposure:
- if he or she knowingly exposes his or her genitals to the view of any person under circumstances in which such conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm to the other person with the intent to arouse or to satisfy the sexual desire of any person;
- if he or she knowingly performs an act of masturbation in a manner which exposes the act to the view of any person under circumstances in which such conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm to the other person.”
Generally speaking, charges may result if you or someone you know decides to either show themselves or touch themselves with anyone else around who might be offended. Additionally, the sexual desire element can apply to the person exposing their genitals or to another person's desire they're trying to fulfill. This means if your partner rubs their genitals in view of another to arouse you, they can be charged with indecent exposure.
What's the Jail Time for Indecent Exposure in Colorado?
Each indecent exposure case is different in Colorado. Thus, the penalties are often different as well. Indecent exposure is usually a class 1 misdemeanor in Jefferson County. Conviction can result in:
- up to 12 months in county jail,
- fines of up to $1,000
However, with two prior convictions for closely related offenses, a class 6 felony can apply. Taking a plea deal or conviction of indecent exposure can also result in the requirement to register as a sex offender. In addition to evaluation and treatment, this penalty is especially embarrassing and isolating. The presumption of anyone on the sex offender registry as being violent or a pedophile is widespread. In reality, this may have had nothing to do with your offense and is inaccurate.
Lakewood Sex Crimes Lawyer
Just because you've been contacted by police about indecent exposure doesn't mean you're guilty. You have the right to fight these charges and protect your good name. The best way to do so is by exercising your right to remain silent and then contacting an experienced criminal lawyer. We have decades of experience successfully representing clients facing indecent exposure charges throughout Colorado. Perhaps the exposure was an accident, didn't include genitals, or wasn't in view of anyone. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free consultation. Our skilled attorneys will carefully look over your unique case and suggest next steps in your defense.