Image Source: Pixabay-StockSnap
Bathrooms, dressing rooms and lockers rooms are the types of places you go where you have a reasonable expectation of privacy. When someone takes pictures or video tapes another in one of these places, then Invasion of Privacy charges usually follows. A man was recently arrested for Invasion of Privacy for Sexual Gratification after setting up hidden cameras in the bathroom of a rental house he and his friends and family were vacationing in. There were cameras hidden in four bathrooms, some found in air fresheners. If this had occurred in Denver or Douglas County, the man would not only be facing the Invasion of Privacy for Sexual Gratification, but also required to register as a sex offender if convicted. Also, if any children were recorded through the cameras, then Sexual Exploitation of a Child charges might be filed as well.
Denver Definition of Invasion of Privacy for Sexual Gratification
The Denver, Colorado law definition of Invasion of Privacy for Sexual Gratification – C.R.S. 18-3-405.6 – is:
A person who knowingly observes or takes a photograph of another person's intimate parts without that person's consent, in a situation where the person observed or photographed has a reasonable expectation of privacy, for the purpose of the observer's own sexual gratification, commits unlawful invasion of privacy for sexual gratification.
Obviously, in a bathroom there is a high chance that intimate parts will be exposed. So, if on the recordings there is an exposure of intimate parts and the person exposed did not consent to being filmed, then Invasion of Privacy for Sexual Gratification will be charged.
Sentence for Invasion of Privacy for Sexual Gratification in Jefferson and Adams County
Invasion of Privacy for Sexual Gratification can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. As a class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime, it is punishable by 6 to 24 months in the Jefferson County Jail and up to $5,000 in fines. If, however, it is a second or subsequent offense, or if the person photographed or filmed is under the age of 15, then is it a class 6 felony extraordinary risk crime, punishable in Adams County by 1 to 2 years in the Colorado Department Corrections and up to $100,000 in fines.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment