Juvenile sex assault on a child in Adams County, Colorado is a serious allegation that involves sexual activity between teens and children that are 4 or more years apart. The older minor in these situations faces severe, impactful penalties even if the younger party gave their consent. Relationships can form in high school settings where the two juveniles might be more than 3 years apart, potentially opening the door to a sexual assault charge against your son or daughter. An experienced defense attorney's representation is crucial when allegations like this exist. We invite you to contact our office to discuss your unique situation and outline next steps.
Colorado's Juvenile Sex Assault on a Child Law
Colorado's juvenile sex assault on a child law prohibits sexual behavior between those under 18 who are 4 years apart in age. CRS 18-3-405 defines the specific violations in Adams County. You commit this offense in Brighton, Commerce City, or Thornton if you:
- subject someone under 15 years of age to any sexual contact,
- and are at least 4 years older
Children 14 or younger can consent to sexual activity with their boyfriend or girlfriend if that other person is 3 or less years older. However, when that difference in age reaches or exceeds 4 years, consent becomes irrelevant. Touching of intimate parts and oral, anal, or vaginal sex are unlawful throughout Colorado when these age differences exist.
Adjudication for Juvenile Sex Assault on a Child
Teenagers face difficult consequences for sex offenses in Colorado. While they aren't listed publicly on the registry if they were under 18 at the time of the offense, they are still required to register as a sex offender. Strict supervision applies in these cases and it isn't uncommon for the adjudicated minor to be prohibited from living at home if other children are present. Teens in these situations also face high supervision levels at school and must get approval for just about any activity. Additionally, successful completion of sex offender evaluation / treatment is another requirement.
Adams County Juvenile Sex Crimes Attorney
Just because your son or daughter is facing sex crime charges doesn't mean they're guilty. Perhaps they're being falsely accused, teenage curiosity got the best of them, or they made poor choices. Either way, skilled representation is a must. Sex offenses have a very negative impact on juvenile defendants and large parts of their future are in jeopardy. Contact our office for a free consultation with an experienced juvenile defense attorney. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make securing a determined attorney possible in uncertain times.
So, if a juvenile you know is facing a sex assault on a child charge, be smart. Contact the highly-rated criminal lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Random Institute
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment