In Highlands Ranch, Douglas County and across Colorado, Unlawful Sexual Contact, C.R.S. 18-3-404, is charged when someone knowingly subjects another person to sexual contact when they know the person doesn't consent, where the alleged victim can't appraise the nature of their own conduct, or where the alleged victim is physically helpless and hasn't given consent. Unlawful Sexual Contact can also be charged if someone impairs the other person's ability to appraise or control their own conduct by giving the victim a drug, intoxicant or something else to cause submission without their consent.
Prison, Jail, Medical and Child Related Unlawful Sexual Contact
This crime can also apply when unlawful sexual contact occurs upon a victim in custody, in a hospital or other institution, and the actor uses their position of authority to cause the victim to submit. Unlawful Sexual Contact can also be charged if an actor works in the medical field and engages in treatment or examination of a victim in a manner inconsistent with medical practices / purposes. Finally, Unlawful Sexual Contact can be charged whenever a person (with or without sexual contact) induces or coerces a child to expose intimate parts or engage in sexual contact, intrusion, or penetration for the actor's sexual gratification.
Lawyer for Unlawful Sexual Contact in Denver: An Example
In Denver, Adams County and elsewhere in Colorado, men and women can be charged or accused of Unlawful Sexual Contact after harmless situations or false accusations. Take a situation of an 18-year-old college student who attends a party at a friend's apartment. He sees a girl he likes from one of his classes there, so he ends up talking with her. When the party gets too rowdy, the two go to a more secluded area. They talk for a while before they start to kiss. The girl is fine at first, but then starts to feel guilty because she has a boyfriend. To avoid any tension between her and her boyfriend, she calls police and accuses the 18-year-old of fondling her without her consent. The 18-year-old could be arrested and charged with Unlawful Sexual Contact, even though the girl's allegations are false. Situations of false allegations are not uncommon, and require the expertise of a criminal defense lawyer to fight on your behalf. Call a lawyer for Unlawful Sexual Contact at our office today if you've been accused of Unlawful Sexual Contact anywhere in Colorado.
Arapahoe County Unlawful Sexual Contact: Felony or Misdemeanor Charges?
Unlawful Sexual Contact can result in jail / prison time, as well as sex offender registration and treatment.
In Glendale, Arapahoe County and across Colorado, Unlawful Sexual Contact is charged as a class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime, but it can also be charged as a class 4 felony if force, intimidation or threat is used to cause the victim to submit. Unlawful Sexual Contact is also a class 4 felony if an actor within the medical field (a doctor or nurse, for example) subjects a victim to sexual contact, or if a child is involved in the unlawful sexual contact. If you've been charged or accused of Unlawful Sexual Contact in Arapahoe, Jefferson County or anywhere else in Colorado, consult our attorneys immediately. Upon a conviction of misdemeanor or felony Unlawful Sexual Contact, you could face strict jail or prison time, sex offender treatment, as well as sex offender registration. Because the stakes are so high, you need an aggressive defender by your side in a Colorado court. Call a lawyer for Unlawful Sexual Contact at the O'Malley Law Office today.Request a Free Consultation
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment