What is Sexual Contact in Denver, Adams or Arapahoe County?
In Denver, Adams and Arapahoe County, you will be charged with Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust if you have any sexual contact with a child less than eighteen years of age. Sexual contact is defined as:
- Touching someone in an intimate area (this includes breasts) for the purpose of sexual gratification, arousal or abuse. This includes intimate parts that are clothed.
If you are convicted of this offense in Broomfield, Douglas or Jefferson County, you will be charged with either a class 3 felony (if the alleged victim is less than 15 years old). You will be charged with a class 4 felony if the alleged victim is 15 years or older, but less than 18 years old.
Consequences for Sexual Assault by One in a Position of Trust
The former MLB player may or may not be guilty of inappropriate behavior with these young girls: During the trial he held that the girls were lying. If he had been convicted in a Denver court, however, he could have been facing a lifetime in prison. Many sex offenses in Littleton, Denver and Aurora are subject to indeterminate sentencing. For example, a judge would sentence you to the Colorado Department of Corrections for 2 years to life for class 4 felony Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust. You would also be required to register as a sex offender, and undergo sex offender treatment as overseen by the harsh Sex Offender Management Board.
Being charged with a sex offense in Colorado is serious. It is vital that you work with a criminal defense attorney who is experienced working with sex crimes. Your life is on the line – one moment of weakness while working at a gym can result in a lifetime in prison.Request a Free Consultation
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment