Three teenagers have come forward accusing a man in Colorado Springs of giving them drugs and alcohol, with two of the boys claiming to have been raped after passing out. The man in question previously worked in both the Colorado Springs and Denver school districts, as a teacher's aid, a coach, and security guard. He is facing charges of Contributing to the Delinquency of a Minor as well as Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust.
What is Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust in Jefferson County?
In Jefferson County, anyone who is either a parent or acting in place of a parent, someone who has responsibility of a child's wellbeing, health, education, welfare, or supervision, is considered someone in a position of trust in the child's life. The man mentioned above worked as a cheer coach, a paraprofessional educator, and a security guard at various schools. Any of these professions would put someone in a position of trust with the students that they interact with. Other examples include pastors, counselors, police officers, firefighters, foster parents, guardians, and doctors.
If a person subjects a child (someone under 18 years of age) to any sexual contact, they will be charged with sexual assault on a child. Sexual contact includes the touching of the victim's intimate parts, or the victim touching the actor's intimate parts. This can be charged even if the touching is over the clothes, if the touching is done for the purpose of sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse.
What is the Penalty for Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust in Douglas County?
As someone in a position of trust, you are punished more harshly than those convicted of Sexual Assault on a Child in Douglas County. The penalties will range depending on the age of the child and whether or not the assault is proven to have been done as part of a pattern of sexual abuse. For example, if the child is between 15 and 17, and the sexual assault was not part of a pattern of abuse, it will be charged as a class 4 felony. A conviction of a class 4 felony will mean anywhere between 2 – 6 years in prison, a fine between $2,000 and $500,000, a mandatory parole period of 3 years, registering as a sex offender and undergoing sex offender treatment.
Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer for Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust
If you are facing charges for Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust, your future is on the line. This crime is eligible for indeterminate sentencing, which means a judge is not required to give you a maximum sentence of time that you could be in prison. When dealing with Denver Police, be smart and exercise your right to remain silent – they are not your friends. Instead, contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible. Call us 24/7 at 303-830-0880 to set up a free initial consultation or to schedule a jail visit. Together, we can protect your future.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment