Colorado Sex Crime Attorney Blog

Mandatory Reporting Laws in Denver and Arapahoe County

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Jan 25, 2018 | 0 Comments

In Denver, Douglas, and Arapahoe County, a mandatory reporter is a professional who is required by law to report any suspected instances of child abuse or neglect. This can include sexual, physical, or mental/emotional abuse. These professionals are people who usually work with children and often hold a position of trust. It is the mandatory reporter's responsibility to immediately report any suspected child abuse. They must complete a specific training regarding mandatory reporting and are told it is better to be safe than sorry when it comes to reporting. Very often, it is a teacher or school official who reports suspected sexual or physical abuse, because children are at school for much of their time and make outcries to trusted teachers and other school employees.

Who Are Mandatory Reporters in Adams and Jefferson County?

The Adams and Jefferson County, Colorado law outlines the people required to report child abuse and neglect under C.R.S. 19-3-304:

  • Physician or surgeon;
  • Child health associate;
  • Medical examiner or coroner;
  • Dentist;
  • Osteopath;
  • Optometrist;
  • Chiropractor;
  • Podiatrist;
  • Registered nurse or licensed practical nurse;
  • Hospital personnel engaged in the admission, care, or treatment of patients;
  • Christian science practitioner;
  • Public or private school official or employee;
  • Social worker or worker in any facility or agency that is licensed or certified
  • Mental health professional;
  • Dental hygienist;
  • Psychologist;
  • Physical therapist;
  • Veterinarian;
  • Peace officer;
  • Pharmacist;
  • Commercial film and photographic print processor;
  • Firefighter;
  • Victim's advocate;
  • Licensed professional counselors;
  • Licensed marriage and family therapists;
  • Registered psychotherapists;
  • Clergy member.

Punishment for Not Reporting Child Abuse as a Mandatory Reporter

Because of the responsibility involved in being a mandatory reporter, there is a criminal charge when a mandatory reporter fails to report suspected child abuse or neglect. An Aurora school principal was recently charged with this class 3 misdemeanor, after a 14-year-old girl claimed that the principal pressured her into recanting her statements about having a sexual relationship with a teacher at the school. The principal didn't report the outcry from the girl and instead suspended the girl and made her apologize to the teacher. This class 3 misdemeanor is punishable by up to 6 months in the Arapahoe County Jail. Because of the violation of her mandatory reporting responsibilities, a conviction would likely make it hard to get a position at a school or in another mandatory reporting position.

If you or a loved one has been charged with mandatory reporting violation, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 to schedule your free consultation. Together, we can protect your future.

Image Source: Pixabay-Myriams-Fotos

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment