Image Credit: Pixabay – Madalinlonut
Sexual Assault, C.R.S. 18-3-402, is typically charged as a felony in Denver, Arapahoe County and in every other county of Colorado. However, under the circumstances that a child is 15 or 16 years old and the actor or adult is more than 10 years older than the child, it can be charged as a misdemeanor. In all cases, it doesn't matter whether the sexual contact was initiated by the child or the adult – the adult will always be at fault.
Attorney for Misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Douglas County: Sentencing for Misdemeanor Sexual Assault
Sexual assault on a child 15 or 16 years old is a class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime.
Sexual Assault on a child at least fifteen years old but less than 17 years old (when the actor is at least 10 years older than the victim) is a class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime in Douglas County and across Colorado. This means those convicted could spend to up to 24 months in the Douglas County jail. Those convicted of misdemeanor Sexual Assault will also be required to undergo sex offender treatment while on probation, following the harsh rules set by the Sex Offender Management Board. In many cases, men and women undergoing this treatment will not be allowed to have contact with children (even their own). However, with the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney, we may be able to request that the Douglas County court allow supervised contact. The help of a criminal defense lawyer is imperative in any case of sexual assault in Colorado. Your future is valuable and is worth protecting.
Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust in Adams County
An adult in Glendale, Adams County or anywhere else in Colorado cannot be in a position of trust with respect to the victim if they've subjected a child under the age of eighteen to sexual contact. If they are, it becomes Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust, C.R.S. 18-3-405.3. Sexual Assault on a Child by One in a Position of Trust is a felony and is subject to Colorado's severe indeterminate sentencing laws.
Charged with Misdemeanor Sexual Assault in Jefferson County? Call Us
In addition to possible jail sentencing in Jefferson County and across Colorado for a charge of misdemeanor Sexual Assault, a person could face sex offender registration and treatment. Additionally, upon a conviction or adjudication of two misdemeanor sexual offenses in Colorado, a person will be required to register as a sex offender for the remainder of their lives. Because the stakes are so high in every sexual assault case, you need an experienced sexual assault criminal lawyer to defend your future.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment