What is Prostitution?
Prostitution is prohibited in Arapahoe, Jefferson and Larimer County and throughout Colorado. You will be charged with Prostitution if you: Perform, offer, or agree to perform any act of sexual intercourse or other sexual acts with a person that is not your spouse in exchange for money or other things of value.
A “Victimless” Crime
In many circles, Prostitution is considered a “victimless crime,” or “consensual crime.” This is because there is no direct victim, and because usually only consenting adults are involved. While Prostitution is often considered to be a victimless crime in Denver, Larimer and Adams County, many families of men involved would disagree.
What is the Sentence for Prostitution?
Prostitution is a class 3 misdemeanor in Denver, Centennial and Broomfield, and is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and up to a $750 fine. Pleading guilty to a prostitution charge may seem like a good way to get out of jail, but doing so will keep your record from being sealed in the future. The long-term effect of a prostitution charge can be harmful to your future. Many employers will shy away from hiring someone with a criminal past, especially when it is of a sexual nature. Even women who have posed for adult magazines in the past (which involves no criminal behavior) can have a difficult time keeping their job. One Spanish teacher in Dallas is being called to step down from her position because of her past when she posed for an adult magazine, and another teacher in Florida resigned after photos from a bikini photo-shoot surfaced. Whatever the situation where you were charged with prostitution, it is vital that you work with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can help you fight for your future.Request a Free Consultation