Public indecency charges in Arapahoe County can result from exposing one's intimate body parts in locations where others could be in view. Doing something like having sex in a car or in a park in Aurora, Englewood, or Centennial can lead to criminal charges, heightening the need for a public indecency defense lawyer. In recent news, a couple was seen having sex in a police car after being stopped for riding bikes while intoxicated. The man allegedly proceeded to flee the scene naked but was later apprehended. In Colorado, the couple would've likely been facing charges of public indecency, alongside their act of resisting arrest.
Public Indecency in Aurora, Colorado
Public Indecency C.R.S. 18-7-301 prohibits the following behaviors in public:
- sexual intercourse,
- exposing intimate parts to satisfy sexual desire,
- knowingly showing genitals in a manner that could cause affront or alarm,
- suggestively fondling or groping someone
Intimate body parts include the butt, anus, pubic area, or breasts of a woman. It is important to note that exposing intimate parts in public view is unlawful, whether it was for your own arousal or another's. However, when genitals are exposed, arousal or sexual desire is irrelevant if the display is likely to cause affront or alarm. A prime example of this is when a person chooses to urinate in public as this would likely scare or offend someone.
Is Public Indecency a Misdemeanor in Colorado?
The consequences of a public indecency conviction in Arapahoe County depend on certain circumstances, as well as prior criminal history. Typically, public indecency is a class 1 petty offense, potentially resulting in up to 6 months in county jail and also up to $500 in fines. A history of prior public indecency convictions amplifies the offense to a class 1 misdemeanor. Ramifications may include:
- 6 – 18 months in county jail,
- fines of $500 – $5,000
A first-time offense of public indecency will not require sex offender registration in Colorado. However, the two scenarios below can lead to the requirement to register as a sex offender:
- 2 convictions of public indecency within 5 years,
- or a 3rd public indecency offense
While the thought of a petty offense may not alarm certain people, the fact that a second similar offense could lead to these penalties should be taken seriously. Always contact a skilled public indecency defense lawyer if facing charges, even for a first-time offense.
Arapahoe County Public Indecency Defense Lawyer
An accusation or charge of public indecency in Colorado requires swift action. Contacting a skilled sex crimes attorney can have a positive impact on the outcome of a case. These situations can also escalate to a more serious charge of Indecent Exposure or combine with the all-encompassing Disorderly Conduct accusation. Perhaps the exposure wasn't intentional or unlikely to cause affront or alarm. Nonetheless, contact Arapahoe County's best sex crimes attorneys to schedule a FREE initial consultation.
If you or someone you know has been accused of public indecency, be smart. Contact the determined defense lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – McRonny