Few criminal charges in Colorado require more immediate and thorough representation from a defense attorney than sexual assault on a child. Sometimes referred to as child molestation, this is an extremely serious offense with equally serious consequences. With indeterminate sentencing parameters as a possibility of conviction, those facing SAOC accusations need to exercise caution. A few months ago, a northern Colorado man was arrested for sexual assault on a child. He allegedly touched a young girl's private parts after befriending the child's mother. Contact an expert sex assault on a child attorney if you or someone you know is facing accusations of this nature.
What Constitutes Sexual Assault on a Child in Denver?
C.R.S. 18-3-405 defines the conduct of sexual assault on a child in the state of Colorado. A person commits SAOC in Denver when they:
- touch the the breasts, buttocks, or genital area,
- of a child under the age of 15 (and are 4 or more years older than the child),
- for the purpose of sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse
This definition also includes the clothing covering private parts. Therefore, if someone touches a child's clothed intimate parts or has a child touch theirs, sex assault charges can result. So what happens if an adult accidentally brushes up against a 14-year-old's body in a crowded location and is accused of sexual assault? Well, that person will need to employ a seasoned sex assault on a child attorney capable of proving that the contact was accidental and not for the purpose of arousal or gratification.
How Long Can You Go to Prison for Sexual Assault on a Child in Colorado?
The consequences for conviction of sex assault on a child are vast, severe, and immobilizing in Colorado. Additionally, the social stigma and ruined reputation follow defendants for the remainder of their life, whether they're guilty or not. Sexual assault on a child is a class 4 felony in Denver and can result in 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, as well as $2,000 – $500,000 in fines. However, if force, threat, or a pattern of abuse exist in a SAOC case, a class 3 felony can apply with additional prison time and increased fines. Beyond these penalties, sex offender intensive supervised probation, sex offender treatment, and sex offender registration exist for those convicted. Thousands of dollars are spent by the convicted party on treatment / therapy, polygraphs, and probation supervision, all while many offenders lose their job and can have trouble finding stable employment.
Sex Assault on a Child Accusations | Denver Defense Lawyer
Being accused of sex assault on a child is not something that most people assume could happen to them. Consequently, there is a great deal of confusion, paranoia, and fear that most defendants experience right from the start. We understand these circumstances and do everything in our power to fight the charges, explain realities to our clients, and offer them all the support we can. We can't stress enough that anyone facing a child sex assault accusation must exercise their right to remain silent. Typically, the police believe anything and everything the person making the accusation claims. Law enforcement's goal is to fast-track conviction by building as much evidence against a defendant as possible. Strengthen your defense by not providing any statements and scheduling a free consultation to discuss your situation with Denver's highly rated sex crime attorneys.
If you or someone you know is facing sex assault on a child accusations, be smart. Contact the strategic criminal defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels – Nicholas Githiri
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment