Colorado Sex Crime Attorney Blog

Sexual Assault Accusations in Adams County | Police Officer Facing Allegations

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Jan 22, 2020 | 0 Comments

Sexual assault accusations in Adams County, Colorado originate from claims of non-consensual or forced sex acts. When one person is intoxicated, the law states consent can't occur. There are many factors in sexual assault cases that make the situation less black and white than one might think. Unfortunately, the presumption of guilt is so pervasive that many truths are overlooked. Earlier this month, a Colorado police officer was arrested on sexual assault charges after a date with a woman he had previously met responding to a call. Contact a skilled sex crimes attorney right away if you've been accused of sexual assault in Thornton, Commerce City, or Brighton.

Sex Assault Laws in Colorado

C.R.S. 18-3-402 states the specific violations of Colorado's sexual assault laws. Generally speaking, someone commits sexual assault in Adams County if they:

  • knowingly inflict sexual intrusion or penetration,
  • on another against that person's their will,
  • if they're intoxicated, high, or mentally debilitated,
  • or physically helpless

The sexual acts themselves must include some form of penetration or intrusion (intercourse, oral sex, fingering, etc). Unwanted touching is not sexual assault. Instead, Colorado's unlawful sexual contact laws address these behaviors.

What's the Jail Time for Sexual Assault in Colorado?

The penalties for a sexual assault conviction in Colorado depend largely on whether force, injury, threats, drugging, or a deadly weapon were involved. When these factors are absent, sexual assault is a class 4 felony and can result in 2 – 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and up to $500,000 in fines.

With the presence of threats, force, or drugging, sexual assault becomes a class 3 felony. Up to 16 years in prison and amplified fines can apply in these situations. Sex offender intensive supervised probation and sex offender treatment are other difficult, restrictive penalties. Additionally, conviction of sexual assault results in the requirement to register as a sex offender.

What to do When Charged with Sexual Assault in Adams County

It isn't uncommon for someone facing a sexual assault charge in Colorado to panic. However, the best thing to do is contact a skilled criminal defense attorney right away. We highly recommend that you:

  1. Exercise your right to remain silent by not providing police or investigators with any statements,
  2. Avoid talking about your case with others (including via text, email, or social media),
  3. Schedule a free initial consultation with an experienced sex crimes attorney

There are defenses to sexual assault that may apply to your unique case. Perhaps the intercourse was consensual, no penetration or intrusion occurred, or the alleged victim is regretting their choices and falsely claiming rape. Nevertheless, we offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing accusations throughout Colorado.

If you or someone you know is facing sexual assault accusations, be smart. Contact the strategic criminal defense lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by MabelAmber

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment