According to the news, a retired police officer was accused of sexually assaulting a child. A couple of years ago, an 11-year-old girl alleged the retired police officer sexually assaulted her on two separate occasions. She alleged she was sleeping but was woken up during the sexual assaults. In Denver, La Plata County and every other county across Colorado, the police officer could be charged with Sexual Assault on a Child, even if the accusations are false.
Sexual Assault on a Child in Arapahoe County, Colorado
In Arapahoe County, Adams County and across Colorado, Sexual Assault on a Child, C.R.S. 18-3-405, is charged whenever an actor knowingly subjects another person who's not his spouse to any sexual contact. The child involved would have to be less than fifteen years of age and the actor would have to be at least four years older than the victim. Since the girl was 11 years old at the time she alleged that the police officer sexually assaulted her, and since he is 58 years old, he could be charged with Sexual Assault on a Child. Even if the girl's accusations are false, he could still be charged with this sexual offense since no physical evidence is needed for a Sexual Assault on a Child charge. Not only that, but if convicted, the retired police officer could face steeper sentencing if the alleged sexual assaults were part of a pattern of sexual abuse or if the officer was in a position of trust over the child.
Douglas County Consequences of Sexual Assault on a Child
Sexual Assault on a Child can come with numerous harsh consequences in Colorado. You should always consult an attorney if you've been accused.
In Douglas and Jefferson County, Colorado, Sexual Assault on a Child is normally a class 4 felony. However, under circumstances where force is applied, an actor threatens death, bodily injury, pain, or kidnapping, or the offense is committed as part of a pattern of sexual abuse, Sexual Assault on a Child becomes a class 3 felony. Additionally, Sexual Assault on a Child is subject to indeterminate sentencing, which means there is a possibility you could spend a lifetime behind bars. Sex offender registration and sex offender treatment will also be required. Imagine these requirements for those who are falsely accused of Sexual Assault on a Child in Colorado. Each one is crippling and restricting. You should always involve an experienced criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible if facing any charges or accusations of Sexual Assault on a Child anywhere in Colorado. You need an aggressive attorney who knows the way DAs think and understands the motives behind why kids make accusations. Call the best criminal defense lawyers at the O'Malley Law Office today to set up a free initial consultation and protect your future.Request a Free Consultation
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment