Colorado Sex Crime Attorney Blog

Sexual Assault on a Child Attorney in Aurora | Fondling Someone Under 15

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Mar 19, 2024 | 0 Comments

Sexual Assault on a Child Attorney

Sexual assault on a child in Aurora, Colorado is an extremely serious charge involving touching a young person's intimate parts. When sexual contact occurs between someone 14 or younger and an older individual, devastating criminal charges can result.

One of the key elements in these situations is the age difference between the two people. When that number reaches or exceeds 4 years, a felony charge applies even if there was consent. Young adults and older juveniles must exercise quite a bit of caution when engaging in a physical relationship with a younger person and be sure of their age. Consult a skilled criminal lawyer immediately if you're being accused of sexually assaulting a child in Colorado.

When is Touching Sexual Assault on a Child in Arapahoe County?

Arapahoe County's sexual assault on a child (SAOC) law prohibits sexual contact with a young teen when certain age differences exist. The specific violations are defined in CRS 18-3-405. You commit this sex offense in Aurora, Littleton, or Centennial if you:

  • touch the breast(s), butt, or genital area of someone 14 or younger,
  • for the purpose of sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse,
  • AND are more than 3 years older than the individual

Both fondling or groping a child in this way and having them do the same to you is considered child sex assault. Additionally, the private parts don't have to be exposed. Touching the clothing covering intimate parts also applies. If these interactions go further to oral, anal, or vaginal sex, the older person can face rape charges for acts of sexual penetration or intrusion.

What are the Penalties for Sex Assault on a Child in Colorado?

Sexual assault on a child is at minimum a class 4 felony throughout the state of Colorado. A conviction can result in up to 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and a minimum fine of $2,000. There are, however, aggravating factors that increase this offense to a class 3 felony. Those include:

  • use of force,
  • threatening injury,
  • or a pattern of abuse (sexual contact occurs more than once)

Sentencing in these scenarios can be up to 12 years in prison and substantially higher fines. Additionally, any SAOC conviction leads to sex offender intensive supervised probation after release from prison or jail, sex offender treatment, and sex offender registration. These additional penalties are incredibly restrictive, costly, and dictate almost all aspects of a defendant's life.

Aurora's Best Sex Crimes Attorney 

Child sex assault cases in Colorado are complex. Due to limited evidence, it's often the kid's word against yours. You need the very best defense attorney fighting for your future when allegations of this magnitude present themselves.

Our firm is not afraid to represent someone facing these charges and has successfully done so for decades. Perhaps intimate parts weren't touched, the contact was accidental, or the child is lying. That said, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those accused of sex crimes against children.

Don't talk to police about SAOC allegations - talk to us. 303-830-0880 

Photo by K8

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment