Sexual assault on a child in Colorado Springs involves a person inappropriately touching a child under the age of 15. Groping or fondling a young teen is a felony offense, regardless of consent, if you're 4 or more years older than the child. This means adults even as young as 18 can face criminal charges for sexual contact with anyone 14 or younger. Earlier this month, a man in Colorado was arrested on allegations of both sexually assaulting a child and sexual exploitation of a child. Any allegations of unlawful sexual behavior with a minor requires contacting an experienced sex crimes attorney right away.
What is Child Sex Assault in El Paso County?
Child sex assault in El Paso County includes several different behaviors. CRS 18-3-405 describes the specific violations in Colorado. You commit sexual assault on a child in Colorado Springs, Fountain, or Manitou Springs if you:
- knowingly touch a child's breast(s), butt, or genital area who is 14 or younger,
- or cause a child under 15 to touch your intimate parts,
- AND are 4 or more years older than the child
Even touching the clothing covering a young teenager's intimate parts is enough to face charges. A key element of this sex offense is that the contact was meant to abuse the child or satisfy sexual arousal or gratification. These actions become a more serious offense when the older party is in a position of trust in respect to the child. This applies to roles such as teachers, coaches, and pastors. Additionally, the definition of a child in these situations changes from someone under 15 to minors under 18. Anyone in charge of a juvenile's supervision for any period of time is considered a position of trust.
Sentencing for Sexual Assault on a Child in Colorado
Conviction of sexual assault on a child can impact a defendant for decades, and often the rest of their life. Child sex assault is a class 4 felony in Colorado Springs when the case doesn't involve any threats, force, or injury and occurred one time. Possible penalties can include:
- 2 – 6 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- a minimum fine of $2,000,
- evaluation / treatment,
- sex offender registration,
- sex offender intensive supervised probation
Child sex assault cases sometimes involve ongoing relationships, also known as a pattern of abuse. This amplifies the charge to a class 3 felony, as much as doubling the incarceration period and adding to the fine amount.
Colorado Springs Sex Crimes Attorney
Don't lose hope if you're facing an allegation of sexual assault on a child in El Paso County. While the situation may seem insurmountable, there are defenses to this charge that may apply to your unique case. Perhaps the touching didn't involve intimate parts, it was accidental, or wasn't for the purpose of arousal or gratification. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free consultation. Our highly rated attorneys offer affordable fees and flexible payment plans for those facing sex crime charges throughout Colorado.
If you or someone you know is facing a child sex assault allegation in Colorado, be smart. Contact the skilled criminal lawyers at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880.
Photo by Gaelle Marcel
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment