Colorado Sex Crime Attorney Blog

Shoplifters Need Sex Offender Treatment, C.R.S. 16-11.7-102

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | Jun 25, 2012 | 0 Comments

A crazy scenario too strange to imagine, is now law in Colorado.  With obvious prompting from the Colorado sex offender treatment industry to drum up more business, people who are convicted of ANY crime (including shoplifting – C.R.S. 18-4-401, disorderly conduct – C.R.S. 18-9-106, check fraud – C.R.S. 18-5-205, and Possession of Marijuana, C.R.S. 18-18-406) must have a sex offender offense specific evaluation completed, and then complete the treatment recommended, if they have ever, anywhere, been previously convicted of a sex offense.  This can happen in Denver, Adams, Arapahoe, Douglas, Jefferson County or any Colorado county.

Let's say that 10 years ago you were convicted in Grand Junction for Indecent Exposure under C.R.S. 18-7-302.  You were drunk and took off your pants on a dare and ran down the street naked.  Convicted of a “sex offense,” you registered as a sex offender for several years, did all the required treatment and evaluations, and were allowed to stop registration and treatment after being pronounced safe.  Fast forward to today, when you are pulled over for Driving While Ability Impaired, C.R.S. 42-4-1301, in Westminster (Adams County).  Do you think the alcohol treatment classes and possible jail are all you face?  You must also complete a sex offense specific evaluation for nearly $1,000.00, and do treatment for five years if recommended!

Within this ridiculous law, anyone previously convicted anywhere for the most minor sexual offense, must be reevaluated and do treatment if convicted of any criminal offense – even those that do not involve sexual misconduct.  By now, everyone should know that sex offender treatment is very difficult and expensive.  Plus, there are onerous requirements such as: you can't be around your own children or other kids.  Sex offender treaters can dictate whether you can be around your wife, keep your job or drive your car.  They dictate when you can go out to the grocery store, the cell phone you can possess, and what you can think about.  Want to have sex with your wife? You must first ask your treatment provider and probation officer for permission.  This is a sick system – through and through.

We have been defending people charged with sex offenses for over twenty years.  If you have been contacted by police and have a prior sex offense anywhere at any time, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call the experienced criminal defense attorneys at 303-830-0880.  Together, we can protect your future.

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment