Statutory rape charges in Arapahoe County can result when someone has sex with an underage person. This sexual assault crime involves vaginal, oral, or anal sex with someone 16 or younger. While there are a few exceptions, statutory rape has especially detrimental consequences, including sex offender registration in many cases. Even when the younger person consents to the actions, Colorado law refuses to acknowledge this and punishes the older person harshly. Any allegations of statutory rape in Colorado require contacting an experienced sex crimes lawyer as soon as possible.
Things to Know About Statutory Rape in Aurora
Colorado's sexual assault laws address statutory rape in CRS 18-3-402. You commit this serious sex offense in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood if you:
- perform sexual penetration or intrusion (intercourse, oral / anal sex, fingering, insertion of a foreign object),
- with a minor 16 or younger
Knowing the age of a sexual partner is crucial in Arapahoe County. This goes beyond believing what a younger person tells you. As a strict liability crime, statutory rape places all responsibility on the defendant regardless of whether the minor lied about their age or looked like an adult. There are a few exceptions to statutory rape in Colorado that apply to sexual partners that are close in age or married:
- minors who are married can consent to sex with their spouse,
- youth 14 or younger can consent to someone less than 4 years older,
- teenagers that are 15 or 16 can legally consent to someone less than 10 years older
Sex with underage minors outside these age parameters can lead to devastating penalties.
Statutory Rape Penalties in Arapahoe County
Statutory rape is either a misdemeanor or felony in Colorado depending on specific age differences. Defendants face a class 1 misdemeanor when they're ten years (or more) older than a victim age 15 or 16. This can result in up to 2 years in county jail and fines of up to $5,000. In situations where the defendant is 4 (or more) years older than a victim under the age of 15, a class 4 felony applies. Penalties in these cases can stretch to up to 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and fines of $2,000 – $500,000. Sex offender registration is another punishing ramification of felony statutory rape that often leads to trouble finding employment and community isolation.
Arapahoe County Sex Crimes Attorney
Statutory rape allegations in Colorado can seem overwhelming. With possible penalties of incarceration, sex offender registration, and significant fines, finding the best sex crimes attorney is crucial. Look no further than representation from Sawyer Legal Group, LLC. We have decades of experience with complicated sex crimes and the results clients need in times like these. Perhaps penetration or intrusion didn't occur or you're facing a false accusation. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free consultation. We will carefully analyze your statutory rape case and recommend next steps in your defense.
If you or someone you know is facing statutory rape charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly rated sex crime attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880.
Photo by Max Ilienerwise