It is almost becoming a daily occurrence where a popular figure faces some type of unwanted sexual contact allegation. While some accusations are factual, others aren't and often negatively impact someone's reputation, career, and family. In Colorado, groping or fondling claims between adults can lead to charges of unlawful sexual contact. This week, a well-known celebrity is denying accusations and has agreed to turn himself in regarding an incident where a woman is claiming he groped her at a rooftop bar over the weekend. Wisely, the man has obtained representation from an attorney. Situations such as these require expert council from an experienced unlawful sexual contact attorney.
What is Unlawful Sexual Contact in Aurora, Colorado?
C.R.S. 18-3-404 defines the circumstances of unlawful sexual contact throughout the state of Colorado. A man or woman commits this sex offense if they:
- knowingly touch another person's intimate parts without consent,
- knowingly cause another to touch their intimate parts without the other person's consent,
- or entice a minor under 18 to expose their intimate parts or engage in intercourse with someone for sexual gratification
The definitions of sexual behavior are complex when it comes to the law. Consequently, an expert sex crimes attorney is vital to sort through the complexities and form a strong defense. Did a situation involve consent? Was there sexual contact and was it for the purpose of gratification? What exactly are considered intimate parts? Was there any intrusion or penetration?
Jail Time for Unlawful Sexual Contact in Arapahoe County
Each case is unique and may include different lengths of penalties in reference to incarceration and probation. A conviction of unlawful sexual contact in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood is a class 1 misdemeanor. Punishments can include up to 12 months in county jail, as well as fines of up to $1,000. Whenever unwanted sexual contact involves drugging, force, intimidation, or threats, felony charges apply. 2 – 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections and also six-figure fines are potential penalties. Additionally, both the misdemeanor or felony conviction result in the requirement to register as a sex offender. In order to obtain the best possible outcome, hire a strategic unlawful sexual contact attorney with proven results.
Do I Need a Lawyer for a Groping Accusation?
Any accusation or charge surrounding unwanted sexual contact requires an immediate call to an expert sex crimes lawyer. There is a great deal on the line and those facing a charge or accusation shouldn't hesitate to contact a defense attorney. Jail time, substantial fines, sex offender registration, a destroyed reputation, and other restrictions are all possibilities. Don't let these ramifications become your reality. Maybe the contact in your unique case was accidental or the touching wasn't for sexual gratification. Nevertheless, contact our office to schedule a free consultation with one of our expert defense lawyers.
If you or someone you has been charged or accused of unlawful sexual contact, be smart. Contact the results-driven defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pixabay – 453169