Accusations of unwanted touching often lead to charges of unlawful sexual contact in Boulder County. This particular offense sometimes gets confused with sexual assault, but doesn't include acts of penetration or intrusion. Unlawful sexual contact involves groping or fondling of intimate parts without consent. Touching a woman's breast without her permission or grabbing a man's crotch without his consent can lead to an unlawful sexual contact allegation. Whether you feel your intentions were misunderstood or you acted on mixed signals, securing an experienced sex crime attorney is crucial. Below we discuss unlawful sexual contact in greater detail and how our criminal lawyers can help those facing charges.
Boulder Unlawful Sexual Contact
Boulder County's unlawful sexual contact law prohibits touching another person's private parts without their permission. CRS 18-3-404 is the criminal code that addresses this sexual contact law throughout Colorado. You commit unlawful sexual contact in Boulder, Longmont, or Broomfield if you:
- knowingly touch another person's intimate parts,
- or knowingly cause someone to touch your intimate parts
Groping or fondling another's external genitalia, the perineum, anus, butt, or pubes, or someone's breast(s) qualifies as unlawful sexual contact if done for sexual gratification, arousal, or abuse. Even touching the clothing covering these body parts can lead to charges. Unlawful sexual contact also applies to encouraging anyone under 18 to expose their intimate parts or have sex with another person for your sexual gratification.
How Serious is Unlawful Sexual Contact in Boulder?
Each unlawful sexual contact situation is unique. Consequences differ from case to case. At minimum, a conviction is a class 1 misdemeanor. Penalties in these situations can include:
- a county jail sentence of up to 12 months,
- a max fine of $1,000,
- evaluation / treatment
- sex offender registration
Felony unlawful sexual contact applies if the use of threats, intimidation, force, or drugs were present. Up to 8 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections, fines of $2K – $500K, and sex offender registration can result in these cases. Furthermore, unlawful sexual contact that involves threatening, possessing, or using a deadly weapon or causing serious bodily injury elevates the charge to a crime of violence. Defendants in these cases face 5 years to life in prison.
Boulder County Sex Crimes Lawyer
Just because you've been charged with unlawful sexual contact in Boulder County doesn't mean you're guilty. Our strategic defense attorneys have decades of combined experience successfully fighting sex crime charges throughout Colorado. Our reviews speak for themselves. Perhaps the contact was an accident, there was consent, or you're being falsely accused. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. We will thoroughly analyze your unique case, as well as suggest next steps in your defense. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make skilled representation a reality in uncertain times.
Don't talk to the police about unlawful sexual conduct – talk to us. Sawyer Legal Group, LLC 303-830-0880.
Photo by Norbert Kundrak
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment