Unlawful sexual contact defense is vital in Arapahoe County for anyone facing an allegation of groping or fondling someone against their will. This crime has especially detrimental consequences, with significant time behind bars, steep fines, and dreaded sex offender registration as possible punishments. Unlawful sexual contact charges sometimes stem from mixed signals, alcohol consumption on a date, or misunderstood intentions. When intimate parts are involved, clear consent is a must or criminal charges can follow. Consult an experienced sex crime attorney today if someone is accusing you of these acts.
Unlawful Sexual Contact in Arapahoe County
Arapahoe County's unlawful sexual contact law prohibits people from touching another person's private parts without permission. CRS 18-3-404 defines the specific violations of unlawful sexual contact in the state of Colorado. You commit this sex offense in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood if you:
- knowingly touch someone's intimate parts,
- without that person's consent or in a situation where they can't consent
A person's intimate parts include their genitalia, perineum, anus, butt, pubes, or breast(s). Touching these parts exposed or clothed without permission both qualify as unlawful sexual contact in Colorado. It is important to note that a current or former relationship with another person doesn't automatically create consent. If the above behaviors include any unwanted acts of intrusion or penetration, sexual assault applies.
Is Unlawful Sexual Contact a Felony or Misdemeanor in Colorado?
The use of force or violence substantially amplify charges of unlawful sexual contact. When the case doesn't involve these elements, the crime is still a class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction can lead to:
- up to 1 year in county jail,
- a maximum fine of $1,000,
- sex offender registration
However, if threat, intimidation, force, or drugging were used to achieve submission to the sexual contact, a felony applies. Up to 8 years in prison, fines of $2K – $500K, and sex offender registration are possible at sentencing. Finally, if the offense includes use or mention of a deadly weapon or serious bodily injury, defendants can spend 5 years to life in the Colorado Department of Corrections.
Sex Crime Lawyer in Arapahoe County
We highly recommend that those facing an allegation of a sex crime in Colorado proceed carefully. Don't speak with law enforcement or investigators if they try to contact you. Instead, seek strategic unlawful sexual contact defense focused on your best possible outcome. We have a great deal of experience defending clients charged with unlawful sexual contact or sexual assault and often achieve favorable outcomes. Perhaps the contact was an accident, there was consent, or it simply never happened. That said, contact our attorneys today for a free consultation. We will thoroughly analyze your unique case, as well as suggest next steps. With our affordable fees and flexible payment plans, skilled representation is a click or call away.
So, if you or someone you know is facing an accusation of unlawful sexual contact in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly-rated criminal defense attorneys at Sawyer Legal Group, LLC at 303-830-0880. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Ben White
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment