Touching someone's intimate parts without their consent is charged as Unlawful Sexual Contact in Denver, Golden, and Brighton. A juvenile was recently charged with this crime, along with Sexual Assault and Harassment, after an investigation into a potential crime where he was the victim lead law enforcement down another path. According to the report, a teacher was being investigated for having a relationship with the student. Through questioning, it was determined that there was no crime with the teacher, however, other allegations came to light, accusing the student of being inappropriate with classmates, both male and female. The student was arrested and is facing multiple charges.
Douglas County Unlawful Sexual Contact Lawyer: Definition of Unlawful Sexual Contact in Arapahoe County
The Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado law definition of Unlawful Sexual Contact, as it applies to the case above – C.R.S. 18-3-404 – is:(1) Any actor who knowingly subjects a victim to any sexual contact commits unlawful sexual contact if:
(a) The actor knows that the victim does not consent; or
(b) The actor knows that the victim is incapable of appraising the nature of the victim's conduct; or
(c) The victim is physically helpless and the actor knows that the victim is physically helpless and the victim has not consented; or
(d) The actor has substantially impaired the victim's power to appraise or control the victim's conduct by employing, without the victim's consent, any drug, intoxicant, or other means for the purpose of causing submission
The four subsections above are the possible subsections the student could be charged under. Details regarding the allegations were not released.
Sentence for Unlawful Sexual Contact in Douglas and Arapahoe County
As a class 1 misdemeanor extraordinary risk crime in Arapahoe and Douglas County, Unlawful Sexual Contact is punishable by 6 to 24 months in the Douglas County Jail and up to $5,000 in fines. However, if a victim claims that the accused use force, threats, or intimidation to accomplish the unlawful sexual touching or groping, then it is charged as a class 4 felony, which is punishable by a sentence to the Colorado Department of Corrections. This crime is also a sex offense, and will require sex offender registration upon conviction or sentencing after a guilty plea.
If you or a loved one has been charged with Unlawful Sexual Contact, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future.
Image Source: Pixabay-rawpixel
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment