Colorado Sex Crime Attorney Blog

Indecent Exposure and Public Indecency Defense Lawyer Intent of Exposure Makes All the Difference

Posted by Kyle B. Sawyer | May 08, 2018 | 0 Comments

Exposing yourself can be charged as Public Indecency or Indecent Exposure in Denver, Aurora, or Castle Rock, depending on the circumstances and intent behind the exposure. A man was recently charged with a crime after exposing himself on the subway. According to the report, he exposed his genitals to fellow subway riders and then sat down amongst them. When one of people who witnessed the event pulled out their phone, he smiled and waved at the camera. If his intent was to alarm those around him, then he would be facing the Public Indecency charge. If he intended to satisfy a sexual desire, then he would be facing the sex offense Indecent Exposure.

Denver Public Indecency Attorney: Non-Sexual Intent with Public Indecency in Arapahoe and Douglas County

The Douglas and Arapahoe County, Colorado law definition of Public Indecency – C.R.S. 18-7-301(1)(e) – is:

(1) Any person who performs any of the following in a public place or where the conduct may reasonably be expected to be viewed by members of the public commits public indecency:

(e) A knowing exposure of the person's genitals to the view of a person under circumstances in which such conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm to the other person.

Again, the intent of this crime is to cause affront or alarm – no sexual purpose is involved. As a class 1 petty offense, Public Indecency is punishable by up to 6 months in the Douglas County Jail and $500 in fines.

Adams County Indecent Exposure Attorney: Definition of Indecent Exposure in Jefferson County

The Jefferson and Adams County, Colorado law definition of Indecent Exposure – C.R.S. 18-7-302(1)(a) – is:

(1) A person commits indecent exposure:

(a) If he or she knowingly exposes his or her genitals to the view of any person under circumstances in which such conduct is likely to cause affront or alarm to the other person with the intent to arouse or to satisfy the sexual desire of any person

Here, the intent must be sexual – whether it satisfies the sexual desire of the person committing the offense or the other person involved. As a class 1 misdemeanor sex offense, Indecent Exposure is punishable by 6 to 18 months in the Jefferson County Jail and up to $5,000 in fines. It also requires a period of registering as a sex offender.

If you or someone you love has been charged with Indecent Exposure or Public Indecency, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and contact the best criminal defense attorneys from the O'Malley Law Office at 303-830-0880 today. Together, we can protect your future.

Image Source: Pixabay-Engin_Akyurt

About the Author

Kyle B. Sawyer

I have a passion for defending others in criminal cases. I am able to empathize with my clients and understand their emotions and fears. I have a unique perspective on the criminal justice system and I understand what it feels like to be wrongly accused of a crime.


There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment